Excalibur Special Honors

31st Annual Excalibur Awards

Special Honors 

The PRSA Buffalo Niagara Chapter awards program is not just about great work, but also great people.

Know a professional who deserves to be honored at this year's Excalibur awards? 

Submit a professional here

Special Honors Awards can be given in the following categories:

The Ann R. Carden Rising Star Award honors an outstanding newcomer to the public relations field. The nominee must have demonstrated leadership potential through service to PRSA and/or the community during his/her initial years in the profession. He or she must have five or fewer years in the field, excluding internships or part-time employment while working on a degree, and must also be a PRSA member for at least one year.

The Outstanding Executive Award honors a Western New York business executive (CEO, Senior Director or Executive) who recognizes and supports the role of public relations in his/her organization and throughout the community. The nominee must be from outside the communications industry. He or she must show a dedicated commitment to the value of public relations, and have a proven track record of the advancement of strategic communications as part of a business’s overall operating philosophy. Members and non-members of PRSA are eligible.

The May C. Randazzo Outstanding Practitioner Award is given to a Western New York public relations professional who, like May, has achieved exceptional professional success, displays the highest ethics, and is dedicated to serving the community and our profession. The recipient must demonstrate excellence in achievement, application, reputation, ethics, service to PRSA and community service.

The Board of Directors’ Distinguished Service Award is presented to honor a public relations professional who has a significant record of service to the chapter over a sustained period of time. Such a professional has strengthened the chapter – and, by extension, the profession – through volunteer service in a unique and noteworthy manner. He or she is honored as an ambassador for the profession by representing the highest ideals of ethics and integrity.


Recent Winners

Ann R. Carden Rising Star Award

  • 2019: Grace Gerass
  • 2018: Marcene Robinson
  • 2017: Matt Biddle
  • 2016: Devon Slobodzian
  • 2015: Justina Fetterly
  • 2014: Phillip Weiss
  • 2013: Beth Silverman Gruber
  • 2012: Kate LaBrake
  • 2011: Jennifer Gallardo

Outstanding Executive Award

  • 2019: John Somers
  • 2018: Robert Wilmers
  • 2017: William Gisel
  • 2016: Majed Dawood-Farah
  • 2015: Tara A. Ellis
  • 2014: Kenneth P. Houseknecht, APR
  • 2013: Art Wingerter
  • 2012: J. Efrain Martinez
  • 2011: Arjang A. Assad, Ph.D.

May C. Randazzo Outstanding Practitioner Award

  • 2019: Therese Hickok
  • 2018: Rene Petties-Jones
  • 2017: Emily Perryman, APR
  • 2016: Michael P. Hughes
  • 2015: John DellaContrada
  • 2014: Rose Caldwell
  • 2013: Jacqueline Molik Ghosen, APR
  • 2012: Frank Sava
  • 2011: Michael Barone

Board of Directors' Distinguished Service Award

  • 2019: Kevin Manne
  • 2018: Barbara Byers, APR
  • 2017: Jacqueline Ghosen, APR
  • 2016: John Senall, Fellow PRSA
  • 2015: Ann Carden, APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2014: Thomas R. Lucia
  • 2013: Deborah Silverman, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
  • 2012: Jeff Paterson, APR
  • 2011: Richard Shaner Jr.

Questions? Email us at [email protected].